Way 2 Fonky

From Rap Dictionary
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Way 2 Fonky' is the second album by rapper/producer DJ Quik. The song Way 2 Fonky responded to Tim Dog's West Coast diss "Fuck Compton". It was released on June 30, 1992 on Profile Records. The album peaked at #20 on the Billboard 200 music chart on August 8, 1992. It was certified Gold by the RIAA on October 9, 1992. It features the singles "Way 2 Fonky" and "Jus Lyke Compton".

Chris Rock ranked "Way 2 Fonky" twenty-fourth on a 2005 list for Rolling Stone on the Top 25 Hip-Hop Albums of all time.

Track listing

# Title Producer(s) Performer (s) Sample(s)
1. America'z Most Complete Artist DJ Quik DJ Quik *"N.T." by Kool & the Gang
*"Remember the Children" by Earth, Wind & Fire
*"The Big Bang Theory" by Parliament
2. Mo' Pussy DJ Quik DJ Quik *"Shake" & "I Don't Believe You Want to Get Up and Dance(Oops)" by Gap Band
3. Way 2 Fonky DJ Quik DJ Quik *"More Bounce to the Ounce" by Zapp
4. Jus Lyke Compton DJ Quik DJ Quik *"Hook and Sling" by Eddie Bo
*"Wino Dealing With Dracula" by Richard Pryor
5. Quik'z Groove II [For U 2 Rip 2] DJ Quik DJ Quik *"Africano" by Earth, Wind & Fire
*"Explain It to Her Mama" by Temprees
6. Me Wanna Rip Your Girl DJ Quik DJ Quik
7. When You're a Gee DJ Quik DJ Quik, Playa Hamm *"I Heard It Through the Grapevine" by Roger Troutman
*"UFO" by Richard Pryor
8. No Bullshit DJ Quik DJ Quik, KK of 2nd II None
9. Only Fo' Tha Money DJ Quik DJ Quik, 2nd II None
10. Let Me Rip Tonite DJ Quik DJ Quik
11. Niggaz Still Trippin' DJ Quik DJ Quik, AMG, 2nd II None, JFN, Hi-C *"Movin'" by Brass Construction
*"Let's Dance" by Pleasure
*"You Can Make It If You Try" by Sly & The Family Stone
*"Ffun" by Con Funk Shun
12. Tha Last Word DJ Quik DJ Quik

Audio Samples




<references />

Template:DJ Quik