Mobb Deep

From Rap Dictionary
Jump to navigation Jump to search



Mobb Deep is an African-American hip hop duo from Queensbridge, Queens, New York, U.S.A., that consists of Havoc and Prodigy. The duo is one of the most critically acclaimed hardcore East Coast Hip-Hop groups. The group is best known for its dark, hardcore delivery as exemplified by the single "Shook Ones Pt. II." Originally dubbing themselves the Poetical Profits, the duo later changed its name to Mobb Deep to reflect their reputation on the streets. In 1993, when Havoc and Prodigy were nineteen, they released their debut album, "Juvenile Hell" which was promoted by the single "Peer Pressure." The album sold poorly and eventually met with harsh reviews that dismissed the duo as just another hardcore group with little to distinguish it from the rest of the hip-hop world, despite production by DJ Premier and Large Professor. The group dud not see its first major success until they released their second album, "The Infamous" released in 1995. Mobb Deep catapulted to the top of the hardcore hip-hop scene through their straightforward narration of street life. Mobb Deep was part of the infamous East Coast vs. West Coast Hip Hop rivalry that was fueled and increasingly promoted by the private media. In June 2005, Mobb Deep announced they had signed with 50 Cent's label G-Unit Records. The move was surprising among Hip Hop fans because 50 Cent had ridiculed the group in his song "Piggy Bank". 50 Cent had a connection to Mobb Deep as he grew up in Queens and Havoc had provided production on projects by G-Unit, Lloyd Banks and Tony Yayo. Mobb Deep have become one of the most successful rap duos in Hip Hop having sold over three million records. Two of their albums have been critically acclaimed, The Infamous and Hell on Earth, the former of which is considered to be classic among avid Hip-Hop listeners and general fans. They are partially credited for the resurgence of East Coast rap in the early to mid-1990s. The group briefly disbanded in 2012 after a feud broke out between its members, but that has since been resolved and they have reunited for a 20th anniversary tour and a self-titled album.


Juvenile Hell (1993)

The Infamous (1995)

Hell on Earth (1996)

Murda Muzik (1999)

Infamy (2001)

Amerikaz Nightmare (2004)

Blood Money (2006)


Shook Ones pt. 2

Hell on Earth

Quiet Storm

Burn (ft. Vita & Big Noyd)

Got it Twisted

Put em in Their Place

External Links

Official Twitter Page

Official MySpace